97.3fm
Brisbane's widest variety of music from the '80s to now

Now Playing:

Loading...
Listen on

Facebook Is Launching An ‘Unsend’ Button In Messenger

Have you ever sent a risky message and wished that you could take it back? Have you ever sent a screenshot to the wrong person? Are you a serial drunk texter?

If you answered ‘yes’ to at least one of these questions than this new Facebook feature is exactly the thing that you need.

Facebook have announced that they’re currently working on adding an ‘unsend’ feature to messenger which will allow you to recall any message as soon as you’ve sent it.

Yep, with this new feature SO much drama can be easily avoided!

Apparently the idea for the feature came after people caught wind of a secret message feature that already exists that allows people in the know to delete messages from conversations.

“We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer - and have their messages automatically deleted,” said a Facebook rep to TechCrunch.

“We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner - and we’re sorry that we did not.”

But we should add that if you do use this new, all powerful feature, do so with caution because the original message will be replaced with a message that states ‘this message was deleted’.

I guess though in this case if the person asks you what message you deleted you could make up an answer and it would end up be WAY less awkward than if they actually saw the embarrassing message!

Share this: