A woman has found a mixtape she lost on holiday after it washed up on a beach 25 years later, almost 2000km from where it went missing.

Stella Wedell was 12 when she made the tape for her Walkman to listen to while on holiday in Spain in 1993.

The tape was full of absolute bangers by artists such as Pet Shop Boys, Bob Marley and Shaggy… and it went missing.

Last year, while visiting the Sea of Artefacts – an exhibition featuring pieces made from plastic marine debris –  Ms Wedell was floored to see her heckin’ mixtape, and a list of the 20 songs she had recorded on it.

“When I was reading the tracklist, it seemed very familiar to me,” Ms Wedell said.

“So I took a picture of it and compared it with the original CD from 1993, which I still have – and it was exactly the same tracklist, but starting with track three.

“I remember that I didn’t like the first two songs on the CD because I felt they were too old so I wouldn’t have included them when I recorded the mixtape aged 12.


“I also have an association with the Jungle Book song, and this was always the third track.

“I always made tapes from my CDs at this time to listen to them with my Walkman, especially for holidays, and to think that a tape I could have lost more than 20 years ago had been found was incredible.”

It’s understood that the tape had washed up on a beach in Fuerteventura in 2017 and was recovered by UK artist Mandy Barker.

She sent the tape to a professional audio restorer, who managed to listen to all the tracks, and it was included in her exhibition.

“Even after getting the tape to play, it was then an astounding chance for Stella to walk into my exhibition and recognise her tape,” Ms Barker said.

“She said she was shocked to find it and, when I read her email, I couldn’t believe it either. It was shock all round.


“The songs at the start were damaged but further in the songs were as clear as they would be today. It shows how long plastic can exist in the sea.”

The tape will be returned to Ms Wedell after the exhibition wraps touring.

Stella’s 1993 Spanish Holiday Mixtape Tracklist:

  1. Somebody Dance With Me (Radio Mix) – DJ Bobo
  2. Would I Lie To You? – Charles & Eddie
  3. The Jungle Book Groove – Disney Cast
  4. Rock With You – Inner Circle
  5. Do You See The Light – Snap
  6. One Love (Radio Version) – Dr Alban
  7. More And More – Captain Hollywood Project
  8. Oh Carolina (Radio Version) – Shaggy
  9. The Key, The Secret (Glamorously Developed Edit) – Urban Cookie Collective
  10. It Keeps Rainin’ (Tears From My Eyes) – Bitty McLean
  11. Summer Summer (Radio Edit) – Loft
  12. Never Let Her Slip Away – Undercover
  13. Power Of American Natives – Dance 2 Trance
  14. Iron Lion Zion (7” Mix) – Bob Marley & The Wailers
  15. Sweet Harmony – The Beloved
  16. Give It Up – Cut ‘n’ Move
  17. Go West – Pet Shop Boys
  18. Runaway Train – Soul Asylum
  19. (I Can’t Help) Falling In Love With You – UB40
  20. Mr Vain – Culture Beat

Here's one of our favourite moments from Robin Terry & Kip!